Recent Trading System Reviews

On this page, you will read both positive and negative reviews posted by real subscribers to strategies. Regardless of whether a review is positive, you must remember that there is a substantial risk of loss in futures and forex trading, and also that there is a substantial risk of loss in online trading of stocks, options, and equities.

Remember: past performance does not indicate future performance.


System Stars Reviewed Review
Genefish Hong Kong
Genefish Hong Kong
08/24/2015 good system.
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
08/20/2015 Very good system. Requires using a sufficient amount of capital per contract (depending on your risk tolerance) and discipline to follow the system.
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
08/19/2015 been using for 8 months and will continue very diligent system
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
08/19/2015 I don't subscribe to a lot of systems but I do follow a lot of them. I must say that this system is very consistent with an excellent risk return profile. What I appreciate the most is that the manager has understands markets risks and knows when to take trades or to stay cash. The fact that It doesn't trade a lot is a plus from my point of view because it can be traded manually and it means also you are not taking market risk every trading day. by the way i belive that when a system has more tan 3 years of a good and consistent Track record there is no much moer to add. keep up the good work. .
Commodity Long Term
Commodity Long Term
08/19/2015 Rating: 1 star, because I can't give it 0 star.
This a Boom-or-Bust system. More than likely, it will go BUST for the following reasons:
- The manager(s) are married to the idea that commodities, especially oil, can only go higher
- NO respect for trend
- NO hedging or stop loss
- ADD to positions even as losses mount
- Some of the trades are in penny stocks!
- Shorting a 3x leveraged ETF, so when you're wrong you're horribly wrong!! Add to that the borrowing cost for shorting
- NO COMMUNICATION with subscribers; they have apparently abandoned the system as well as the subscribers
Undoubtedly, oil will rally, even if briefly, at some point in the future and the high-beta holdings will rally even more - atleast, those that are not bankrupt by that time. So the system may show up as a best performer for a short period of time (daily, weekly) but that would hardly make up for the huge losses already suffered.
As I write this on 8/19/15, the Max Drawdown is shown as 95%!!!! This would require a 2000% gain just to break even!!! Good luck with that.
I would suggest C2 check the background and track record of people who peddle systems on their site.
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
08/19/2015 I have been following this system for a number of years and as indicated in other reviews on this site, Bob Dylan is one of the best. The system is not a frequent trader but is exceptionally profitable. Inter trade drawdowns may test your risk tolerance but the success rate is worth the test.
3Fold
3Fold
08/14/2015 This is a low volume trading system. Over the last year the system started a downward trend, which is not unusual, except that shortly thereafter the system developer became unresponsive. What is concerning is that C2 has not responded to my email requests on what happens to subscribers who continue to pay, not knowing the system is abandoned. I see this as a critical issue in C2's services, and makes me very cautious about using the service other than for research purposes. Continuing to pay for a system that is no longer active should be a situation C2 takes ownership over.
CoT Trading Advanced
CoT Trading Advanced
08/13/2015 I would be very careful here. The overall results look good, but for me, I started this system and had two quick losses, and then the system has been dark ever since. No trades in 3 months. But still paying 250/month. I reached out to the developer twice with no response, hoping to get insight as to why a system trading as many varied products would have no signals in 3 months. So not being as bold as to say this is a scam, but I would be very wary before you sign up.
Simple Swing
Simple Swing
08/08/2015 In reviewing this system I should note that I first decided to join after viewing the live trading results dating from 2007 to 2014, mostly recored before the proprietor started trading on Collective2. In particular I was interested to compare these results against the Collective2 results achieved by the other well known APPL trend-following system, US Stock Trader.

At first blush, USST seems to win hands down with a monthly return of 3.2%, compared to Simple Swing (SS) which 18only 19 gets 2.08% per month for the pre-Collective2 live results. However USST employs 200% leverage compared to 150% leverage for SS. Remove leverage from both systems and you get an internal rate of return of 1.6 for USST and almost 1.4 for SS. USST still seems to 18win 19 except you need to consider exposure to the market. As traded on Collective2, USST averages 109% exposure, and SS about 70%, making the latter potentially less volatile. If you employed additional leverage to increase SS 19s exposure to that of USST, the monthly percentage returns for both systems would be almost identical I believe.

If the systems were not traded on IB ($1 per trade) then SS might actually be the winner as, for example, paying $7 per trade, or $14 for the round trip, would destroy results for USST which trades almost twice as frequently as SS. Thanks to IB 19s cheap commissions structure, USST does well, but it is not the clear-cut winner that it first appears to be.

For me there were further advantages to trading with SS. Mainly it is the very high level of communication provided by the system proprietor. And also the proprietor has 2 other systems, for which he 19ll give a discount for trading multiple services with him.

Of course 18live trading 19 is where the rubber meets the road, and it has to be said that for the first few months since we joined (March 2015) the system has performed poorly. In fact about as poor as any period in the 7 years of live results forwarded to me. However I am willing to put this down to the choppy, trend-less nature of the indexes and also AAPL for the last 6 months or more. For example Bespoke Invest wrote recently that the Dow has wobbled above and below the 50 day moving average some 33 times in the last 6 months. The previous highest record was 28 times back in 1918! So this has been a very choppy market, unkind to many trend-following systems, (although USST with its higher frequency trade model has actually done pretty well in recent months).
The good news is that Simple Swing seems to be on the mend again, and as I write this, the drawdown has been frustrating but not devastating, and recently our account has gone 18green 19.

During the time of the drawdown the proprietor has been most encouraging, helping me compare this to drawdowns in the past, and to see that ultimately the system is robust and capable of recovering. In the past the greatest damage to my account has been jumping from system to system, e.g. experiencing a loss in one, jumping to another, only to see the former system recover. The proprietor 19s hand of experience in this case was invaluable and we stayed around long enough to see the recovery.

There is still a way to go in terms of us pulling ahead now and really living up to the live results prior to 2014. I have high hopes however that things will go well and propose to write a follow-up review in another 6 months or so. If indeed the system continues its recovery and comes closer to matching the pre-Collective2 live trading results, then I'll have no hesitation in giving this system 5 stars.
RisingStar
RisingStar
08/04/2015 A clear no go system. For a conservative sytem having already such large drawdown is a joke. I just pulled out. I cannot understand how it went from up 10% to -0.6% in july. And now even worse in august. Ciao
HPB Options
HPB Options
07/30/2015 I have only been trading this system for a short time and so far I am very pleased with the results and the methodology. Anytime a strategy is short premium the risk profile is daunting. I believe this strategy works very well with other systems and the risk profile can be managed as part of a group of strategies.
RisingStar
RisingStar
07/25/2015 continually buying in to stocks in this way is extremely risky and impractical
Maximus Decimus
Maximus Decimus
07/24/2015 This system basically tells it all in the trade record. I think almost anyone would be happy with the net results of 450% in a few months correct? Look closely at the size of the positions taken. Look closely at the drawdowns intraday and intratrade. Can you take a $20,000 hit intraday and keep on going? If not I would stay away. If you have a few hundred thousand and want to allocate a portion to this system, I think that might be a viable strategy. I still think at this leverage level a flash crash or other black swan event against the position could wipe out your account since he trades at a very high position size for the equity shown.
From watching the trader in action, I would say there is some discretion going on adjusting orders and using a martingale type entry. In other words, he lets himself be stopped out of part of a position and re-enters more just beyond the stop. It is still very impressive in net result, so you have to say he is a good trader. Just be aware that you will have to auto trade due to the very high activity level, and also be aware that the holding for longer trend statement in the description has not really happened in the last 2 months that I can see.
Last thing is that if you trade a partial position, I'm not sure your results will mirror his. Since he trades around an idea, getting stopped out and re-entering, the partial trade will only get a portion of the record shown.
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/24/2015 I agree with the last few reviews. Not sure what Brad is (was) thinking. Unfortunately I got about the middle of July. Made a few good small profits... then the SPXS debacle, and then NUGT. Yesterday I bailed and sold all my NUGT. I am considering myself "lucky". I wish those of you who are remaining The Best Of Luck.
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/24/2015 My questions to the developer:
Hi Bradley,
Your stats look impressive and I've been considering to subscribe for sometime. Just a few questions:
1- I believe this is a discretionary trading method, correct?
2- What kind of max drawdown is not acceptable for BluStar3X?
3- Are you sending limit orders or market orders (I'll trade manually)?
4- What is the max drawdown per trade?
5- Are you trading this strategy for yourself?

His answers:
1) discretionary
2) 5%
3) Market orders
4) Average 1-2% Max
5)Yes

AND STATS:
MAX DRAWDOWN: 20.61% in TWO TRADES.

NO COMMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/24/2015 Nothing new - just another banker getting nice numbers to attract customers. All is good. Then suddenly the strategy changes and in few trades the account in burnt.

EVERYONE GET OUT OF THE NUGT TRADE - GOLD CAN CRASH FURTHER ANYTIME - USE COMMON SENSE AND LEARN TO TRADE WITH TECHNICAL ANALYSIS AND INDICATORS!

MOST STRATEGIES HERE ARE MADE TO RIP YOU OFF - OBSERVE AND USE COMMON SENSE.

Brad
..I..
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/24/2015 Brad had a good system going. Nothing heroic but solid gains with reasonable risk management and everyone was happy.
Then the NUGT trade. I think Brad believed so much that the trade would work out that even if it did (which it looks like it won't) people would leave the system because it's not the kind of risk they're willing to accept.
The Spirit of Nicolas Darvas.
The Spirit of Nicolas Darvas.
07/23/2015 The best trend follower system in C2, both systems of Danny are working fantastic during this year, results talks by theirself.
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/23/2015 Right now (July 23, 2015 NUGT trade, down 11%) this looks like a second really bad call for this system which was already down 6% last week by going against the market with SPXS and holding all week. It's also a risky call, since NUGT is triple leveraged, gold is extremely volatile, and it's extremely difficult to predict gold stocks.

Combined with the current drawdown, this eliminates all but 3% of my 18% gain since starting BLUSTAR3X autotrade in early May, and still looking at the possibility of losing significantly more if NUGT does not reverse course very soon. Originally the system owner was going to do 50% SPXS and 50% NUGT. This would have been safer.

In my opinion these last two trades violate two of the basic rules of trading, e.g. (a) try to minimize risk while maximizing profits and (b) cut your losses short and let your winners ride. The first (SPXS) trade clearly violates (b) while the second one violates (a). I might add that Brad had a pretty good May and a really good June by making lots of little gains and some small losses. However, if your winning percentage on SPXL/SPXS is 70% but you only typically make 1-2% on the winning trades (let's say 1%) but then lose 2% or more on the losing trades (either by holding onto losing positions or gambling on risky trades like NUGT) then you will not be successful, and certainly will not beat the market. Also, I consider both of these trades to be unforced errors - the first because the system held too long (also I wouldn't have taken the trade but would have stayed in cash because of the inherent risk in going short for the 3rd weekend in a row, when both the Iran and Greek deals were about to be announced, and the system had already made gains the previous 2 weeks on this trade) and the second because it's too risky and not part of the original strategy of the system. So in two weeks (or slightly less) almost all of the gains since May 8 have been wiped out, with what I consider to be excessively risky trades.
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/23/2015 Down about 20% in a week. I see that he uses "astrology" in his system description. Too risky for me.
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/23/2015 Have to watch these systems for a while before following. Its how a trader deals with drawdowns that says it all and holding on to a big loser is a mistake, then take on a huge risk to try and make back those losses is a real rookie mistake!
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
07/23/2015 I just wanted to express my disappointment with this system. When I subscribed developer was trading system paying attention to drawdowns. But in last two trades he is totally disregarding risk management and taking huge drawdown 19s. I would advise him to pay attention to risk management. Huge drawdown 19s are big no-no to success of a system here on collective.
512 Options
512 Options
07/20/2015 Out of control.
Stay away!!!!
ETF VOLATILITY TIMER
ETF VOLATILITY TIMER
07/14/2015 I subscribed to this system a couple of weeks before the 5.1% drawdown in May -- bad timing on my part. Luckily, I stuck with it and I'm now in the black. The system vendor really seems to have identified a market inefficiency with these VIX ETFs. I like the fact that the system is not correlated with the S&P. The two reason's why I can't give it 5 starts are 1) There is significant slippage due to the roughly $500K of funds autotrading this strategy, and 2) the losers are usually several times bigger than the winners, so a bad losing streak can take quite a while to recover from.
FuturesX
FuturesX
07/13/2015 Good system than in good conditions can do very good profits, and in bad conditions the risk management works perfectly and you feel save waiting the next shot.
HPB Options
HPB Options
07/13/2015 We have subscribed for only a short time. During that time we have only seen short option trades in the near month. No major dramas thus far and the developer has been consistently delivering. However we do worry about an event which pulls these naked short options underwater and if the developer can get out in a timely manner.
Maximus Decimus
Maximus Decimus
07/13/2015 Overview:
I have been in contact with this signal provider for over two months and have carefully monitored the system.

Overall, I am **very impressed** with:
1) excellent responsiveness to messages,
2) good market timing,
3) cumulative performance, AND
4) frequent updates.

Concerns include a:
1) limited time-horizon for performance evaluation, AND
2) limited information regarding the financial position of the signal provider. (Note: This applies almost sitewide.)

As such, I believe 4/5 stars is the appropriate rating, with the potential for an upgrade following more time.

Downside Risk:
All and all, there appears to be good risk control and stop-limits. There was two (significant) mistakes regarding treasury bonds resulting in a large drawdown, but I am confident that lessons were learned from that episode.

Securities trading (like forex) is a zero sum gain and constitutes significant risk. The only way to be successful in this space is to be right most of the time, and ALWAYS prioritize capital preservation. This provider appears to understand that.

Historical Performance:
Statistically speaking, the ratios this strategy has obtained (especially the Sharpe Ratio) are unheard of, and are exceedingly unlikely to remain THIS favorable. Considering that this strategy realizes gains/losses daily, it can be tempting to continuously increase scaling; don't do this.

Forward 14 Economic Events:
This strategy becomes more lucrative due to major economic events, whether it be from China or Greece. These events significantly move the market and are largely the cause of the gains made thus far in the strategy. Absent these events performance may suffer.

e24 SP500 Emini
e24 SP500 Emini
07/12/2015 unfortunately with this year down 25% and the way the system is trading; I would be shocked if this system performed 25% of its reported backtests.
DailyMiner
DailyMiner
07/08/2015 The reason the developer did not turn off trading even though they knew it was out of sync with the market was because they are not trading their own account and do not feel the losses themselves. They make subscriber fees even if the system implodes (for a while at least.) I really wish managers were required, or at least incentivized, to be TOS certified when trading a lot of subscriber accounts as it would surely result in trading models with less risk and more responsible trading behavior so we could sleep easier. Unfortunately, there 19s aren 19t that many managers who are real traders on C2 from what I can see so far.
Emerging S
Emerging S
07/06/2015 This is really bad system and what makes it worse is the system developer's complete lack of communication now a days. System is loosing money every month and there is nothing from this guy. I am certain that he is building a new system ( with great back testing results - I must add) that he would try to sell to those who are not burnt by current system. Terrible system and really bad system developer.
Zakum
Zakum
07/04/2015 I have been a subscriber since May. As the recent reviewer said, it hasn't been going anywhere. That is certainly not uncommon for systems to have their own consolidation before moving again. But, the sub fee of 299 is very steep without having booked any gains. Probably subscribers could hold out until (hopefully) there are better days, but would need to have a fee of $99 rather than $299, or the developer will see many people dropping out.

As for the strategy, I have seen some good gains turn into losses. The system has a hard dollar stop of $1200, which has been hit more frequently these days. But the system has booked some gains, however, the smaller gains vs larger losses will negatively affect the profit factor without some larger gains. Recently, crude has had some good trend days, but the system closes out too early to really get the opportunity to participate in booking some decent days. Without seeing backtest trade results, we can't determine if the system has many long periods of no action, which provides us with a baseline decision on waiting or bailing because of a $299 fee coming out of our account every month.
Emerging S
Emerging S
07/03/2015 I made money with this system in November-December of last year and initially wasn't worried when the equity began to go the other direction in January. What made me concerned was when the owner kept introducing new algorithms "with amazing back-testing results". This is called curve-fitting: exactly what I used to do when my own algorithms started not performing as they were supposed to. That's why I'm a subscriber now and not a system developer. The reason I left Emerging S in January (and luckily avoided most of the ensuing pain) is because I seek a vendor who has the maturity and steel-nerves to stay with his system through thick and thin, never tweaking it to suit the unexpected as Keith does. I don't believe Keith will stay with "the original algorithm" because my feeling is that it wasn't very good in the first place. And recent results bear this out.
Zakum
Zakum
07/02/2015 This system hasn't gone anywhere in almost 4 months.
Normally I can tolerate the break even performance and wait for better times (if they come) but the subscription cost requires Zakum to outperform each month and it hasn't done that is awhile
EXLENCE II
EXLENCE II
07/01/2015 Really good system, had been using Exllence in it's first instance a few year back.

Chris is a really good manager, and my result are exactly as what you see on the site.

Thank's
Denis
Zakum
Zakum
07/01/2015 The great performance in the beginning is gone unfortunately. He says that the system is mechanical but I believe he is trading discretionary. I was impressed in the beginning but now the system seems average. I hope I am wrong.
DailyMiner
DailyMiner
06/29/2015 To their credit, during the current big drawdown (June 2015) the developers sent several warning emails notifying subscribers that their system was not synchronizing with the market. Fair enough. To their discredit, the developers did not close the positions and wait for the storm to blow over. I may be unusual, but I expect an auto-trade system to be, well, automatic. I travel a lot and I don't have the time to monitor and adjust my positions. Just a heads-up for future subscribers.
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
06/28/2015 Bad management of risk. Typical get rich scheme, too risky and getting out of control lately. Ciao!
Test System
Test System
06/27/2015 You know the saying "the market can stay irrational longer than you can stay liquid?" That's Tranche. The positions often work out in the long run, but the system seems to stick to them through ridiculous drawdowns. The system looked outstanding in the beginning but as of late has incurred some very wild swings. Perhaps in the end Tranche will survive, and if you can stomach the rollercoaster ride, the high returns will be worth it. In my opinion however the volatility is unacceptable.
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
06/24/2015 After losing money on more than one deceptively risky, irresponsible system like this one I strongly advise potential followers to learn a lesson I learned the hard way when evaluating managers and strategies: 1) only trade with managers who are trading their own account with their own money (you can filter by Trades Own Account -TOS- certification in the grid) since this enforces discipline and responsibility when they are eating their own cooking OR 2) they have a very, very long successful track record across all market conditions, and 3) aren't charging high prices or using high pressure sales pitches -- both tend to show they're trying to make short term money off subscribers rather than their own trading skills. Good luck everybody.
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
06/23/2015 Let's get out of here!
BluStar3X
BluStar3X
06/21/2015 I have only recently subscribed to BluStar3X, but so far he has done very well. He seems to be fairly conservative and thoughtful about the trades he makes (usually at the end of the day). He does not hang on to losing positions and does not over trade. VERY happy with this system so far, and will probably up this rating to a 5 star in three months. Will report back!
DailyMiner
DailyMiner
06/19/2015 I have been a suscriber for about a year and I am still satisfied with the system. I have had some great profits during this time. Every system has its drawdown so I am not worried. The markets is going through some major changes now and I believe that Daily Miner is experiencing that as well. My biggest concern is that the developer start to change the system to much now due to the drawdown...
DailyMiner
DailyMiner
06/19/2015 I have been a subscriber since late April. Yes, just before the current drawdown. Terrible timing.

At this time, Daily Miner is having a tough time adjusting to the current markets. The futures instruments that this strategy is entering, seem too correlated. This creates increased risk exposure to one side. Currently, we are in 6 positions, and 5 are in the red. Unfortunately, the trend is against the current portfolio, therefore, creating a new higher drawdown period.

I can't seem to work out how/why this system determines entry and exits. Since I became a subscriber, I have seen good gains turn into large losers, and when a losing trade is in a trend reversal, and gets back to breakeven, the system exits only to take a new position on the opposite side, which now against the trend, adding to new losses.

It would be great if the developer would send communication to the subscribers to maintain the confidence in the system, especially with a new drawdown, but nothing has been sent.

Luckily, I have some other trading strategies that is offsetting some of the losses (currently at 10K loss), but not too sure how long to keep Daily Miner. It has had some good string of wins in the past, but I can 19t see how. Drawdowns are like staring into the abyss, not knowing when it will end.

Hybrid Multi-Strat 49
Hybrid Multi-Strat 49
06/18/2015 I've only traded this one for a month, but I've made good money so far.
Test System 11234
Test System 11234
06/15/2015 When a developer of a mechanical system totally ignores important fundamental events bad things can happen. On days of the employment report it is best to stay out, not only did the system trade but it did so with maximum leverage resulting in a big loss. The following weekend when the Greek problem loomed large over the market he entered again at the end of Friday, again resulting in a large loss. Very disappointing.
eminiglobex
eminiglobex
06/15/2015 3100 points of risk and 3 days for a 350 point profit target = way too much risk. I suspect the majority of the trades that occur in this strategy are "managed" trades and the investors have no idea how much risk is involved.
Tech Long Only
Tech Long Only
06/15/2015 I like how this system trades. It is very patient, and patience is the rarest commodity as they say on Wall Street. This system doesn't force trades or over-trades but as you can see (with the returns year after year), it does just as well, if not better, than much more active systems. Keep it up and thank you for being patient (which we aren't).
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
06/12/2015 Martingale system.
US Stock Trader
US Stock Trader
06/07/2015 I've subscribed to many C2 systems over the years, and this is probably the one I've kept for the longest period -- 17 months and counting. Sure, it only trades one stock that seems to always go up, but the fact that the vendor is able to make solid returns while being long, short and in cash tells me that the system is for real.
US Stock Trader
US Stock Trader
06/07/2015 Very good return with only moderate DD.. But when I look at the history over the last year or so, it looks like performance would have been better if only the long trades were taken.
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
06/05/2015 Great system. We've been trading this strategy for a few years now and we're happy with the Trader!
DAY TRADE emini
DAY TRADE emini
06/05/2015 Still early days for us with this strategy, but we've been with the Trader's other strategy, Bob Dylan, for a number of years and had no issues. While there has been some big draw downs over the last few months, we are happy to continue with the strategy. The Trader has always been quick to respond to any queries we've had in the past.
Optimized Partners II
Optimized Partners II
06/01/2015 Yesterday I sent following email to the vendor:
Hi Brad,
I've been a subscriber to OPII for more than a year now, and as far as I can see from the C2 results, OPI is looking much better in terms of statistics.
Do you recommend me to switch to OPI now or continue with OPII?
Are you still trading OPII for your family accounts?
My experience with C2 systems is that when a vendor changes the way he trades his system (although you explained clearly why you were making that change), it is almost always a warning sign for me that something is not right and it may be the time to quit or change. Therefore I am asking those two questions.

If you tell me to continue with OPII, I will.

And received following reply:
And last year you criticized by systems when they went flat in the Summer this year its something else. You burned your bridge with me.

Then I sent following email:
I believe you confused me with someone else. I did not criticise you last summer as I was a new subscriber. I asked you a few questions and you got them as criticism and I told you that it was a way of learning to ask questions and you told me "No worries, keep asking".
Yesterday, I asked a simple question and seeked your recommendation if I should switch to OPI or continue with OPII, and I told you the reason why I asked those questions. And that reason is my own experience with C2 systems as I've been trading C2 systems for a very long time.
But your reply to me is not kind, not answering my question and considering your previous replies either to me or other subscribers, it looks like you have no tolerance to any opinion and you have certainly an ego and attitude problem.

As a long time subscriber seeking answers to my questions, I definitely haven't deserved this kind of behaviour, therefore I'm going to unsubscribe from OPII when my paid period ends this month.
Regards,

2013 and 2014 returns and other stats are fantastic. I was considering to trade this strategy for a long time as normally I am a loyal subscriber (I've been trading another strategy for more than 3 years now), but the attitude of vendor is unacceptable. Whenever you ask a question, you feel like you'll be punished as he has a ego problem and take everything as a criticism. If you'd like to work with this kind of vendor, then be my guest. But as a paying subscribers, I believe we don't deserve this kind of attitude. Therefore;
Performance/Stats: 4 stars
Service: Does not deserve a star
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
05/29/2015 Finally I am pulling plug on this system. I am not sure based on trading style if this can be called as a system.
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
05/27/2015 It's just a matter of time before this system goes bust, I definitely would not invest any money in it.

First of all the manager averages down on almost every trade. Now averaging down isn't necessarily bad but the fact that he has to do it so often proves that he isn't very good at picking stocks.

If he were picking stocks at the right time he wouldn't need to average down all the time.

He also says in his description that he only uses 2-3 "tranches" meaning he only averages down 2-3 times per trade.

*LIE*

In his 'BLUE' trade, he averaged down 10 times. How can you be so wrong that you have to keep putting money in 10 times?

In the BLUE trade it was reported that they were about to get a drug passed for Europe and the U.S. This was very bullish news but Brett continued to stay SHORT and of course lost more money.

Secondly when I was a subscriber Brett was short in 10 trades. This is way too much, many of them were in the same industry so they all went bad together and he subsequently went on an 18% draw down.

This isn't a person who knows how to trade.

Everyone who has been trading for more than a year knows you don't invest too much in any one sector, especially bio stocks.

It also says in his description that he was a professional trader at a hedge fund. I cannot believe this, it has to be a lie. If he was they must have fired him because there's no way you can trade like this working for a professional hedge fund. You would get laughed at and shown the door.

He also writes his description in the 3rd person as if it's written by someone else. I.e. "The portfolio manager excels at trading."

Just seems sneaky when we know it's written by you Brett.

And lastly may I just say that the 2 positive reviews that were first posted for Texas Doubledown are 100% fake and I would risk money on that.

Just read them, it's so obvious.

Honestly I think this guy is just trying his luck and it's only a matter of time before he busts the account and we never hear from him again.

0/5
ATPro
ATPro
05/22/2015 One of the best systems in C2, I've been using from a long time and i have good gains without a lot of risk. Owner of the system have a lot of experience and know what he is doing, in a few years we will see how this system make consistent profits. [C2 ADMINISTRATOR REMINDER: We're glad you found a strategy you like, but we want to remind people that all trading is risky and there is no such thing as "consistent profits."]
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
05/20/2015 A very risky system. This is a martingale system which mean the developer will try to add more shares to his existing stock position when the price of the stock go down, a practice call averaging down or double down (and the reverse if the stock is shorted). This system only work well if the market is moving sideway (neutral) but a disaster if the market is trending. Another risky aspect of the system is that the developer is using full margin at all time for trading and so for instance if your available capital set aside for trading is $1000 he will borrow on margin another $1000 to make a total of $2000 which he then use to trade. The problem with this that you may get a margin call which will close your stock position automatically. This had happenned twice in his other system, Large Hadron Collider, which use a similar strategy. just click on "Show more details" under "Closed Trades" then scroll down the page and you will see "margin call (auto-generated) under stocks that have margin call. The third risky aspect of this system is that there is no diversification in the portfolio holding. This mean that 90% portfolio holding contains stocks that belong to the same industry, for example, his current system portfolio contain 100% biotechnology stocks. What is even worse is that the number of stocks in the portfolio is 10 or less most of the time and most of stocks he trade is small cap stocks which tend to be very volatile. Don't be fooled by the high return of this system because that return is magnified by the help of borrowed money or leverage. Stripped off the leverage and the return is only half as much. All in all I would say if you like gambling this is the system for you.
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
05/20/2015 This is a volatile system - he tends to short stocks trading near 52 week highs hoping for a pullback. These stocks tend to have momentum so its a risky proposition. On top of that, the system can sometimes place 15 trades in a single day, meaning that you either need to auto trade the system or sit in front of a computer all day. He's only been trading for five months so its too soon to completely discount his strategy - however - I suggest traders exercise caution until he's had at least 10 months of consistent results. I wish him luck.
The Forex Portal
The Forex Portal
05/20/2015 Good system. Trader is communicative and helpful, both through C2 boards, and by posting his own descriptive blog.
DAY TRADE emini
DAY TRADE emini
05/09/2015 This system has a poor trading plan or no plan. The losses are too large in comparison to the gains. System developer should try and set system at 3:1. eg. Every gain should be three times the loss. If the stop loss is $500, then the gain is $1500 or if the stop is 5 points= $50 x 5= $250.00 then the gain should be 15 points = $50 x 15 = 750. This means that if the system loss 5 times (5 x $250= $1200) and only gain 2 times ( 2 x $750= $1500) the system will still end up with a gain.
Zakum
Zakum
05/07/2015 This is the best futures system on C2 for the following reasons. 1) The developer is very quick to respond with insightful comments. 2) He does not tout his system as a holy grail and has realistic expectations. 3) The system is in and out intra-day, no overnight or weekend risk. 4) No scaling in / martingale strategy. 5) The DD recovery was long-term realistic and steady. 6) The developer tweaks his system according to changing market conditions so the system does not go stale. 7) Especially for a CL trading system, the developer does not let profits run into losses very often.

I got rid of many other systems on C2 to focus on this one and I haven't looked back. I am willing to take on a lot of risk, so I trade 3 contracts with 50k capital.
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
05/03/2015 I am a new Double Down subscriber of a few weeks, and I have to tell you, Brett is some kind of awesome trader. I started Double Down with a clean slate, preferring not to join any already open trades. I have participated in 5 trades so far, all with gains. 2.27%, 36.90%, 21.08%, 14.72%, and 1.35% for a total dollar gain of $3,400. Brett shorts stocks frequently, and has had some phenomenal gains which I was not able to participate in, as I am funded in an IRA using email signals. To take full advantage of Brett 19s trading expertise I am now using the Auto Trading feature in a cash account. With Brett at the helm, I am looking forward to seeing my account grow. I am fully confident in Brett 19s trading ability, and I am thrilled to be involved with Collective2 and Texas Double Down.

Brett 19s communication skills are on par with his trading. This guy is truly concerned about making you money (he has even emailed me to see how my account is doing). He always answers my questions in a timely fashion. Out of courtesy, I normally wait for the market to close before shooting him an email. More often than not, I receive a reply the same night.

One tip I would give you when you auto trade Double Down is to email Brett, and tell him how much money you are setting aside for Double Down. He will recommend a 1Cscaling 1D percentage. Collective is a little misleading when they suggest using 100%. Do not use 100% unless you are trading the same amount as the Double Down account. Currently as of May 4th it is roughly 170k. If you use 100% and have less than 170k you may run out of money! I am trading with 90k and using 50% scaling. You can always adjust up or down later if you wish.

As I said, I thoroughly trust Brett 19s trading skills. I feel we are seeing the making of a Super Star!
Thanks Brett 26. I Love Ya !!!
The Forex Portal
The Forex Portal
04/30/2015 Good system I've been auto trading for a few weeks. Adrian has a very professional attitude, both in terms of trading and communication : he explains on a regular basis the way he trades the market, the positions... and answers every question... I recommend !

PS : let's trade more time, and I'll probably upgrade to "5 stars" (;-)
Emerging S
Emerging S
04/29/2015 I emailed the system developer, Keith Painter, what the hell was going on in the system with this ridiculous draw-down. Originally Emerging-S had a max draw-down of around 8%, however, all of a sudden, the system
developer developed a whole new trading approach to Emerging S, with amazing "back-testing" results. An email was sent to subscribers that showed back-testing results that showed an average gain of 9% per month
and a 111% annual return with a max draw-down of 11%. Being amazed at such results, I stayed in the system, only to wonder what the hell was going on when the equity curve of the system kept going DOWN
and DOWN, to see the system's max draw-down reach an all time high of 21%!!! I emailed the system developer (Keith Painter) why the back-testing results showed so much promise whereas in reality the opposite
was occurring - the system kept losing money. No response from the developer.I really don't know why his back-testing results were the complete opposite of what was happening in the system. But anyways, subscribers
received an email today finally saying that the system will go back to it's original algorithms. Still, i've unsubscribed to this system for several reasons.
1) Developer should not have used a live auto-traded system to test a brand new system with a brand new approach.
2) Can you really believe a system that promises portfolio gains of 9% a month and 111% a year? That seems ludicrous.
3) The draw-down of this system has hit a point where I feel it is unsafe to continue using this system.
LoDoFINANCIAL MICRO
LoDoFINANCIAL MICRO
04/29/2015 Look at the DD. This speak for it self.
Bank The Pips
Bank The Pips
04/29/2015 This system had a good thing going but seems not to be able to give up the GBP/NZD trade. It's currently down 50% and even if it can turn around he has lost my confidence in "limiting the losses" as per his description.
Seifukusha
Seifukusha
04/28/2015 This look like another "shooting star" system which did well for a short period due to luck but then reverted to randomness because there is no edge. After subscribing to many of these systems I've learned to never trade anything less than a year old and/or a system which is not TOS certified (trader has no skin in the game). Once either of these conditions changes I will take another look at this one.
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
04/27/2015  If you are going to trade this system you need to know yourself pretty well and know how much drawdown you can tolerate. If you use too much leverage you will likely get scared and exit the trade early. Exiting the trade early will almost always cost you tons of money.

Here is how a winning trade will go sometimes: The market drops about 2% and you receive the system signal to go long.  This system has up to two signals per trade so you buy ½ of your maximum contracts per trade.  Then the market continues to drop and after a few days your account is down 15%. You are starting to feel scared that the market will continue to crash. All the financial experts around the world are proclaiming on the television and radio that the market will continue to decline and you should get out as soon as possible.  At this darkest hour the system now gives you a second signal to double up on you contracts! You were already scared with ½ the contracts and now you need to double up?  At this point the future is up to you. You can bail out for a significant loss or double up with an 80% of turning this into a winning trade in the next few days.  It 19s hard to go against your instinct to sell, but this system feeds upon fear and will make some of its best gains when all hope is lost.

I have been trading this system off and on since October 2011. At that time I didn 19t have a lot of confidence in the system so I didn 19t perform the trades like the system specified.  I did the math and if I would have faithfully followed the system from day 1 until now my account would have tripled in size! Instead my account is only up 10% for that entire period.  My account would have risen 56% in 2014 alone if I would have stuck with it.

How many SP500 contracts should you trade to maximize your profits while keeping the drawdowns reasonable? The yearly gains displayed on collective2 are distorted by the fact that the system always trades one or two contracts per trade no matter what the account size is. For example, the gains in 2010(when the account value was $10,000) are most likely overstated and the gains in 2014 (account value was P,000) are understated. Using the historic system trades I ran some simulations to help determine the optimum amount of leveraging to use. The results were that trading one contract (or two if there is a second signal) for every $30,000 in my account would maximize my yearly gain and still have a reasonable drawdown.  If you had traded this system for the 15 years at this level of leverage you would have made an average of 45% per year with a maximum drawdown of 27% during the trade and a maximum drawdown of 12% after the trade closed.  If you are not comfortable with this drawdown you could, for example, trade $60,000 per contract and cut all those numbers in half.

The good:

1. 15 year overall track record without a single losing year.  5 year independently verified track record on the colletive2 site. Using $30,000 per contract leveraging, the biggest gain was 108% during the crash of 2008 and the smallest gain was 8% in 2012.

2. Using $30,000 per contract leveraging,  for the last 15 years the overall gain was 45% per year (37% average per year the last 5 years) with a maximum 1Cduring a trade 1D account drawdown of 27% and a maximum closed trade account drawdown of 12%.

3. The system does not just take trades to make the subscriber happy. It only signals a trade when all conditions for a high probability trade are met. During low volatility markets it might go for months without a single trade.

4. Perfect for retirement accounts. TD Ameritrade allows you to trade futures contracts in an IRA without any monthly or yearly fees.  Trading this system in an IRA using stocks or ETF 19s doesn 19t work as well because it is hard to get the exact leveraging you want and after buying and selling stocks in and IRA you have to wait 3 days before you can trade again. Sometimes the system will signal another trade sooner than 3 days after your last trade. But with futures contracts you can buy and sell as often as you like at about any amount of leveraging you like.

5. Low exposure to the market. Overall on average with this system you are only in the market about 30% of the time. That means the next time there is a big event like 9-11 you have a 70% of not being in the marked so your risk of an oversized loss is reduced significantly.

The bad:

1. You can 19t make a lot of money without risking a lot of money. At $30,000 per contract leveraging there is a chance that a once or twice a decade event will occur while you are long and you will lose 50% or more of your account. I would estimate your chance of this is about 5% for each 10 year period you use the system. I plan to minimize this risk by trading $30,000 per contract until my account grows substantially (for about 6 years) and then reduce my risk to $60,000 per contract.

2. One of the main reasons I like this system is the 15 year track record. The time between 2000 and 2010 is not independently verified and we have to wonder whether or not the track record is accurate.  Was the track record created real-time as the system provided signals or was the system created in 2010 and back-tested on data back to 2000? If the 2000-2010 track record consists of back-tested then this is a good system but not yet proven to be great.
Optimized Partners I
Optimized Partners I
04/27/2015 The developer has done a phenomenal job with the system by investing into micro/small cap stocks. As of today, he has decided to shift his strategy to instead invest into mid/large cap stocks - while somehow expecting to earn the same returns. His rationale is that the system has become too popular and thus trades into micro/small cap stocks move the price significantly - making it difficult to invest effectively. The challenge he faces is real but he could have managed the issue less drastically. For example - he should not have invested into a position (airt) that has an average daily volume of just 9,000. Sticking to a higher average daily volume threshold would appear to have been a more measured mitigating action.

The bottom line is that this system will no longer earn the same returns as it has in the past simply because the allocation strategy has changed so significantly. Proof of this is his other system OP II which by design focusses on mid/large caps and earns a lower rate of return. That said, his systems will likely continue to outperform the overall market and he deserves credit for that. He's generally a very disciplined investor.
Emerging S
Emerging S
04/19/2015 I have used the system for a few months but have decided to leave it - not b/c its in a losing phase (which is inevitable with any system) but b/c the developer is constantly tweaking it and then exulting how great the back-test results are with the new tweaks. [One can always find one or more parameters that give fantastic back-test results but that doesn't mean the underlying concepts are robust.] I reckon it'll take him a few years to be a mature back-tester.
Freedom EURUSD
Freedom EURUSD
04/19/2015 After 30% account loss I am pulling a plug on it. Very risky system with a bad risk management from a developer. It appears that developer went into meltdown after system 15% account loss in single trade and abandoned his original strategy.
Test System
Test System
04/14/2015 horrible. Only way to describe this system and manager. When trying to get out, he put on more trades so u are stuck as he takes you down. When things don't go right he will not even bother to respond. Don't think this system will last to long as one can see from the dismal performance with a high price tag. Just make sure if a new system opens up run for the hills
Goldmetre B
Goldmetre B
04/13/2015 Best advise for this trader and system =

STAY AWAY.

trust this advise - it will save you allot of money and time.

Many other safer more professional systems available, choose them.
The Forex Portal
The Forex Portal
03/23/2015 Am not sure why nobody writes reviews on TheForexPortal. I thought its a great system. Manageable drawdowns for the returns shown with almost a year of consistent records.
This "Trend Picker" strategy could compliment many other retracement strategy out there.
I also like the fact that i see Mr Adrian Eliffe online most of the time, which hopefully means that he (this vendor) isn't solely depending on EA or fully algorithm system (which can be scary).
BOB DYLAN
BOB DYLAN
03/23/2015 I was referred to this strategy by a friend and it has not disappointed so far. Only one signal so far. So may be too early for me to tell but this lloks to have solid history and track record.

Thank you,
US Stock Trader
US Stock Trader
03/22/2015 Hasn't been doing very well lately. Ask me in several months what I think. I have subscribed to his strategy for only about 1 month.
Goldmetre B
Goldmetre B
03/18/2015 As the last reviewer pointed out it appears that this system was overfit to a recent small data set during development and is now being tweaked along the way when when faced with real world market conditions. The result: 7 months of gains wiped out in a month. To make matters worse the developer doubled the leverage in a self-destructive attempt to recover from the drawdown quickly despite the increased volatiilty and right before an FOMC announcement (!) I noticed there is a Goldmeter "D" ready to set sail once this one sinks to the bottom. Tickets should be on sale soon but I think I'll stay on dry land next time.
Freedom EURUSD
Freedom EURUSD
03/18/2015 This system has had impressive returns to date and the developer seems to have a knack for picking the places to get in and out with a profit and knowing when to stand aside. But, be prepared to suffer through some harrowing intra-trade drawdowns as this system will add at least 4X the original trade size in order to try and average down an open loss. I do wonder what will happen when the market does not revert to a breakeven and instead keeps going against the trade. For that reason I cannot give it a 5 stars just yet because there is not enough time on C2 to cover those situations but time will tell. Wish the developer luck.
Test System
Test System
03/16/2015 I have not been on Tranche's system for very long, maybe 1 week, but I can say the system is going through major structural changes due to trading losses. Supposedly, upon completion of these changes, the system will be more conservative and profitable, so now is not the time to write a review of Tranche. It is definitely an expensive system and one would expect superior performance based upon cost, but I would say it has been anything but superior at this point. Proceed with caution is the word here.
DailyMiner
DailyMiner
03/15/2015 Good system so far. Ask me in about twelve months for a more comprehensive review, I have just been a subscriber for about 4 weeks.
Tech Long Only
Tech Long Only
03/13/2015 This is a martingale type of system which means it will keep adding to losing positions and hope for a rebound. Eventually we will enter a bear market and the system will run out of margin and can even wipe out your account. It's one of the few types of systems besides selling naked options that can do that fairly quickly. This is the reason that the decent returns in the recent bull market aren't attracting subscribers.
DAY TRADE emini
DAY TRADE emini
03/13/2015 Does not follow the fundamental trading rule: "Cut your losses short and let the winners run".
Texas Doubledown
Texas Doubledown
03/12/2015 Even though the system is barely one and a half month old (that is the reason for only 4 stars) one cannot help but be impressed how this discretionary trader delivers on his confidence in his trading ability as stated in his early forum posts and system description. He skillfully takes advantage of special situations while keeping the risk low with judicial hedging. Could this be one of the very rare cases of a master trader on C2? Time will tell, all I can say is, keep up the good work Brett.
DAY TRADE emini
DAY TRADE emini
03/10/2015 This is a flawed system, the stops are huge, it takes 10 good trades to make up for one bad trade, and many times it picks the opposite of the obvious market direction
Emerging S
Emerging S
03/10/2015 If I had rated this system prior to 11/30/14, I might have given it four stars. But the performance since then has been poor. With a "long only" stock system, I would like a system that can outperform the indices so that each time the indices hit new highs, the system's equity does the same. That was the case prior to 11/30/14, but since then, the system has performed poorly. The system does not use stops, so when a stock held by the system gets clobbered, as has been happening on occasion, the system gets clobbered and the subscriber can only sit there wondering "when is this guy going to pull the plug on this terrible trade". That is a major weakness of this system--not using stops and holding losers way too long. A subscriber would have done a lot better just holding a 2X long S&P index fund over the life of this fund.
Freedom EURUSD
Freedom EURUSD
03/10/2015 Very Pleased so far!
Zakum
Zakum
03/08/2015 I have researched and used several systems on C2, Striker and Altavest. Zakum is definitely one of the best systems available as demonstrated by its returns since inception. As part of my diligence, I always submit questions to the system designer. Guy promptly provided useful responses to my questions which gave me confidence to use his system. Many system designers don 19t properly respond to prospective subscribers so Guy deserves extra credit here. I like the fact Zakum focuses on one instrument as I believe it is easier to create a profitable trading strategy for a single instrument versus creating a profitable trading strategy for multiple instruments.
Carma Stocks
Carma Stocks
03/04/2015 Been trading this for the last 4 months with a very steady and consistent return . Developer is also very responsive to emails .Keep up the good work
ALPHA STAR small
ALPHA STAR small
03/03/2015 A classic case of you get what you pay for. Unlike many other futures trading systems, this developer knows how to ride the winners and milk them for all they are worth. This creates the exceptional returns.
Zakum
Zakum
03/03/2015 I am currently very satisfied with Zakum's trades. A truly professional trader who knows the market well. I got in Dec when there were only one or two other autotraders and autotraded immediately. Perhaps it was the quality of the trades that attracted my attention. Since then i never looked back. His is one of the few systems that i learned not to meddle with the trades and just let it run.
Mean Reversal ES Daily System
Mean Reversal ES Daily System
03/02/2015 Great system, smart developer. If you can handle 5k - 10k DDs and like steady profits, this system is for you. Be ready for a patient algo with parked entries (easy for manual trade). I cannot recommend this system enough.
Zakum
Zakum
03/02/2015 Very professional trader with excellent risk management and outstanding returns so far. I am very happy with the performance especially given the recent extreme market conditions that this system had to deal with. The last review of 1 star is WAY off-base and unfair--backtests are not always available and even if they are they're not very useful besides seeing very basic characteristics which the developer is happy to describe. What really matters is FORWARD execution in real-world conditions on unseen data and this system has done very well to date. The only thing lacking is the time on C2 but that will resolve itself.
Two Cents
Two Cents
02/27/2015 This system has very bad entry and exit. Mostly entered when the big moves were made and usually late to the party. It tries to catch a bigger move. In the real world, price mostly retrace so a huge loss of $1k plus is rather normal. As for exit, the system allowed a trade that was up 2k to dwindle all the way to almost zero before making exit. Stops are useless as they are set very far from the entry. You will be hit badly if there happen to be a significant market move.
LogiMax
LogiMax
02/26/2015 This is what happens to vendors of futures system who increase (often prematurely) their position sizing hoping for sky high returns. They usually suffer large draw downs and lose all their subscribers even if the system is profitable in the long run. I prefer systems with constant position sizing - let the subscriber decide how much he wants to trade. I wish more vendors would emphasize low dd rather than sky high returns.
ETF VOLATILITY TIMER
ETF VOLATILITY TIMER
02/25/2015 Why hold on to losses forever?? You need to improve your strategy to cut losses and still be profitable. Two months with no gain at all...
SP100 Short Term Swing
SP100 Short Term Swing
02/24/2015 Great system. Robust. Developer is a great communicator. Very happy. Been a subscriber since the beginning.
DailyMiner
DailyMiner
02/22/2015 I've been trading this system since the last week of November 2014 when I gave up on trying to trade profitably on my own. Results speaks for itself as the system has helped me recover some of my losses I incurred trading on my own. My only regret is not trading this system sooner.
Zakum
Zakum
02/19/2015 Developer wouldnt provide backtest results to justify system performance. Something smells fishy with the developer. Esp for 300/month. Cautious.
e24 SP500 Emini
e24 SP500 Emini
02/17/2015 System has performed at least as well as the backtest. Had to stomach a good size drawdown in January when I started but it has made a new recovery high so I have more confidence that it is performing as it was designed to do. Volatility is realistic, and I think a good sign the system hasn't been overfit like many other systems with perfectly smooth uptrends until they blow up. I am happy so far with the performance.
Carma Stocks
Carma Stocks
02/11/2015 looks good so far...I am going to go live today and see how it really works!